MALLELUJAH 31st May 2014

Album of photos from the event here


  1. Phil Overend Merimbula
  2. Clancy Mills Merimbula
  3. Matt Lake Merimbula
  4. Jed Done Bournda
  5. Steve Isles Broadwater
  6. Phil Coates Jindabyne

Ladies Hanna Centra

Grommets Will Regan

Juniors Dizzy Stern

Local Casey Gilbert

Mens Taylor McNeil

Masters Morrie from Boggy Creek

Veterans Fraser Buchanan

Grey Grommets Tony Haid

Legend Mike Nadin

Deat Set Legend Henry Jones

The event sponsors are Bushrat Surfboards, Fox Clothing , Quiksilver , Roxy, Viccolo’s restaurant , Woodbine Park, Merimbula Surf Shop , Pambula Wholefoods , Pete Hellmrich family , Hazelgrove oysters, Grey Grommets surfwear. Thanks go to all these sponsors for their generous support.

A custom made surfboard,from Jed Done, Bushrat Surfboards was won by Dizzie Stern.The club would like to thank Jed for his continuous generous support of this event over many years.

Merimbula Sailboard Club presents

The Mallelujah

Saturday 31st May 2014

Artwork by Stan Squire

The surf-gods were finally persuaded to shine their light on Merimbula, and we held "The Mallelujah" on the last day of a glorious May.

The morning's light drizzle fined up, the breeze was light and off-shore, and the swell and sandbanks gave surfers some pretty good conditions to perform their tricks on long-boards, in very competitive conditions.

It was a relief to see such great conditions after we had to call the contest off two weeks ago (because the sea was as flat as a proverbial pancake).

Phil Overend was quite clearly the man to watch as he progressed through the heats and semi's, and danced all over the sweet swell. Well done Phil.

Hanna Centra had a great dayand showed her classy style with fluid turns and fine trimming... go the girls !

The younger guys were really ripping and Dizzy Stern was rewarded with a great prize for showing his flare. He took home the Jed Done surfboard prize.Grommet Will Regan was also impressive and made it through to the semi finals and took home a bonus cash prize. The "future talent" team almost ruled the "old guys"... and we look forward to seeing how they go next year.

Too much talent was on display, and I haven't the room here to mention everybody, but I feel it's important to welcome Phil Coates from Jindabyne who made it through to the finals on his first shot. Great effort Phil.

The vibe was high all day and into the night, when we presented the prizes at the bottom pub in Pambula. Once again John Smythe had managed to score some impressive prizes from generous sponsors, and everybody went home happily. Thanks John and all who helped put this contest on. Please support our sponsors by buying their products whenever youcan.

Phil McManus and his team kept the barbie cooking away all day, and they must be congratulated for a wonderful effort.The girls in the shed/tent worked hard behind the scenes to manage business.. thanks Karen and the ladies team. The judges were also terrific, so thanks to everyone who picked up a scorers sheet, and especiallyto Dave Prowse who co-ordinated the team in the tent.

So... to sum it all up WE HAD A BALL (once again). Mallelujah!

Phil Overend photo by Murray Ferguson

Photos from the event are online HERE.

Photos by Murray Ferguson, Paul Gregoire, Trish Jones




Search this site

Local weather

Wind & Wave forecast from

7day Merimbula forecasts here

Surf webcams

Check us out on Facebook


Looking ahead

This year's Merimbula Classic sailboard/kitesurfing/stand up paddling event will be held from Thursday 27th to Sunday 30th November. Preparations are underway for this event which is now in its 34th year.

For details on the event or how to become a sponsor, please email contest director John Smythe.